Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
21

Sophia Efthimiatou is obsessed

Thucydides, Astrology, and Philosophy in the Substack Politics loft.
21

and I were hanging out in the buzzing Substack loft in Chicago last week, and she kindly agreed to help me practice my in-person recording skills.1 I used the opportunity to ask her about some of her many obsessions…

  • Ancient Greek history and literature, and what we can learn from it today

  • Astrology, and her love of

  • Substack, in contrast to other ways of supporting the arts

  • She had me read a poem (!?)

We do not talk about politics or the DNC at all, though in the background you can hear the talking and drinking of people who did amazing live coverage for

, , and more.

1

I think I rate this about 5.5/10, which is still an improvement from my last attempt (sorry

!) I’m open to any tips. I tried out a pair of DJI mics, but they seem to me to have picked up all of the background noise that you can still hear even after some AI cleaning.

Discussion about this podcast